CEDC – Week 2

31 08 2011

I am midway through my second week at CEDC. So far, my experience here has been great. I have been exposed to new ideas, and I have had the pleasure of meeting people who are so passionate about their work. My fellow VISTAs and I spoke with Rodney Fernandez today, the CEO and founder responsible for driving such a successful movement working toward social justice.

Rodney gave us some pointers for getting as much out of our experience as VISTA volunteers at Cabrillo. He instructed us to seek out mentors, attend as much as possible within CEDC, and connect with former VISTAs to gain insight.

Speaking with Rodney was an integral part of my introduction into the culture of CEDC, and I intend to use his wisdom to guide me through my experience. I am grateful to be a part of something where I am able to contribute to a higher cause. I am glad to be an agent of change, and to work with like-minded people who are passionate about helping others achieve the common goal of living a happy and productive life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

